Looking for a good book to read?

I love to read!  When I was little I loved going to the library.  Books intrigue me.  Especially really large books.  When I hold a book in my hand it is the same as if I am holding a treasure of great worth.

My favorite book when I was little was “Ferdinand the Bull”.  I settled into that book like a warm comfy blanket.  I enveloped myself with ‘his story’.  I cherished the words on the page that told me of a bull who loved to sit under a cork tree and smell the lovely fragrant flowers.  A bee stung him and he went crazy snorting mad.  At that very moment some bullfighters happened to see him and claimed him as a prize bull for their bullfight.  At the bullfight the ladies threw their flowers into the ring, and instead of fighting Ferdinand sat down and smelled the flowers.  Disappointed, the bullfighters returned Ferdinand to his home, and the story ends with him again sitting under a cork tree smelling the flowers.  As a matter of fact I can still vividly picture that last scene; a shadow figure of Ferdinand sitting under a shadow cork tree looking into a beautiful sky.  Aaaaah.  There is still a sense of peace and calm as I remember that story.  Sigh.

When I was a teenager my Mom was reading the Angelique series so I picked up on her love of reading romance novels.  Bargain City had brand new books with the covers ripped off for 10 cents each.  I used to take all my money and go down and stock up on love stories.  I would spend hours in my bedroom reading.  I would devour books and live my life through the stories and words on their pages.  They became alive in my hands!  They were a welcome relief to real life.  Sigh.

As time went by I became more and more disappointed.  Real life sucked.  And eventually reading all those books led to even more disappointment.  I could find no peace like Ferdinand had found, and there was no perfect prince (sorry hubby) who was going to ride in and save the day and whisk me away from this world and all its troubles.  But then, one day, when I was on my last page so to speak, I was asked, “Who was Jesus?  He was either a liar, a lunatic, or Lord.”

No one had ever talked about Jesus before like He was a real person and I was intrigued.  I instinctively knew that I could find out more about Him by reading a Book – the Bible….so, that is what I did.  And as I read about Him with the knowledge that He was a real man….The Word became flesh……I fell in love with reading all over again! I devoured that Book and lived my life through the historical accounts and words on the pages.  It became alive in my hands!  When I hold it in my hands I know I am holding a treasure of great worth.

I settled myself into the Bible like a warm comfy blanket and enveloped myself with ‘His’tory.  I cherished the words on the page that told me of a man who loved me so much he hung on a tree so that I could smell the sweet fragrance of eternal life and have that peace that Ferdinand had at the end ‘his story’.  A man who really is the Perfect Prince.

Ever since reading the Bible I’ve kind of been ruined to other books.  Once I learned that as I read scripture the Holy Spirit will lead and guide me into all truth I just don’t see the need for anything else.  I’ve tried, but God knows, nothing can match the quality and beauty of the words of a Book that has been the best seller forever!!!  Looking for a good Book to read?  I’ve got one I can recommend!  And it’s not only written by a Great Author, but by the Author of Life itself!!!  REAL Life!

Not only was the Teacher wise, but also he imparted knowledge to the people…   The Teacher searched to find just the right words, and what he wrote was upright and true.  The words of the wise are like goads, their collected sayings like firmly embedded nails – given by one Shepherd.  Be warned my son, of anything in addition to them.  Of  making many books there is no end and much study wearies the body.  Ecclesiastes chapter 12.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

