Running

Is there something you have always had a passion for, but just can’t accomplish in this world?  I do; running.  Since I was a little girl I have always wanted to run.  But I just can’t.  I’ve tried, God knows I’ve tried!  I tried when I was young and active, but, being knock-kneed, everything hurt.  So I stopped.  I realized that running was just not for me (in this world.)

Not running, though doesn’t stop me from the wanting.  I see a jogger and I covet long to be as free as they seem to be.  You can tell when someone is meant to run.  Their legs have a rhythm and a spontaneity and freedom as they pace.  Movements are graceful and full of joy and sunshine.  Their face is always tilted just a little bit upwards as if they are singing a hallelujah with their body, and their hair flows easily behind them as if God Himself were running His fingers through it as they run.

I want to run!

But I can’t.

As I ponder this dilemma I wonder why God would continue to give a knock-kneed middle-aged extra large woman a heart’s desire to run when it is impossible.  I think I have the answer.  It is just a thought, but maybe, just maybe, God gives everyone two heart’s desires in this world to carry them through to the next.   The first is, of course, Jesus.  He fulfills everything we could ever desire, and His perfect life, death, and resurrection on our behalf is enough!  But I do believe that this longing to run that remains unfulfilled in this world gives me something else to look forward to when I get to heaven.

When you get there look for me.  I’ll be the one by Jesus running, and I’ll be smiling gloriously with joy!

He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like his own, using the same power with which he will bring everything under his control.

Jesus, I can’t physically run in this realm without everything hurting, but I can and do continue to run the spiritual race that you have set before us, and I do it with endurance by keeping my eyes on you.  Give me your strength to finish this race so that I may run with you in heaven.  Amen

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

