A Good Midnight Cry

I woke in the middle of the night with tears on my mind.  As I prayed for the man whom Jesus used to open up my blind eyes, I started to cry.  I don’t know if I was crying for him, for myself, for God’s goodness, or what.  I just cried.  And it felt good to cry.

Before Christ, I never cried like I do now.  Once He touched my heart, I started to cry, and it seems like I cry now more than I don’t.  I believe He has given me the “gift of tears.”  The world sees tears as a sign of weakness, but scripture is clear that if you are a believer in the Lord Jesus you will cry.  You will cry because you recognize the glory of God and your utter dependency on him.  That goes against our human nature so there is a pressure there.  It must be released somewhere, and the tear ducts are a pressure point of release.

You will also cry for those who can’t see what you see.  You will cry for the blind.  Your tears will flood your eyes that can see for those who can’t.  Do our physical tears affect the spiritual vision of others?  Is there a connection?  Just a thought.

You will cry because there is pain in being a slave servant of Christ.  I read a quote yesterday that went like this;  “God has many disciples, but few servants.”  It is painful to put to death the flesh to be a slave for Christ.  It is painful to put off the old corrupt man, and to put on the new man.  It is painful to be re-created anew every day.  It is painful to even mention the name of Jesus Christ.  Is that because we know that mentioning His name brings either death or life to the hearer?   And death and life are pressure points for tears.  Tears are almost always shed at a death or a new life.

You will cry because circumcision of the heart causes an open wound.  A broken and contrite heart, God will not despise.  God does not despise tears.  He cherishes them.  Do you know that Jesus finds your tears precious?  Any tear shed in the commission of Christ is a tear that He not just notices, but counts, and stores away in His register.

We will weep over our sin.  Or rather, we weep because we know the extreme pain and torture that Jesus went through for even our simplest(?) sin.  Can sin be simple?  Can death be as simple as sin?

Last Sunday evening during a Bible study, a man who recently lost his son to suicide said to me, “You know Jesus wept when his friend Lazarus died, and Lazarus’ sisters and everyone was weeping.  That really touched Jesus and He cried.  So when we cry Jesus weeps, too.  Right?  He weeps when we weep, He cries, right?”  It was more of a statement than a question, but my heart went out to him and cried for him and his lost.

I remember a few years ago meeting a man and his dog outside of a local grocery store.  He wanted to know where the nearest Catholic Church was.  I don’t know if he was homeless, but there was something that I saw in his eyes, and in the eyes of his dog, that really touched my heart.  By the time I made it out to my car I was weeping for him.  I cried and cried and cried for the longest time.  I have no idea why, but my heart hurt for him.  It still does even now when I think about him.  I had never experienced this deep a reaction before, and I wonder what kind of pain this man must have experienced for it to have touched me the way it did without even knowing why.

As God’s children, we have this promise from our Heavenly Father, “Those who sow in tears will reap with joy.”  My thought is that those who cry the hardest now, in this world, will reap the most joy in Heaven!

Bless your tearful crying till His final Midnight “Cry”…

Abba Father, gentle and kind, comfort those who cry.  In Jesus name, Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 17 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! Please get baptized in His name, and walk in an eternal restored fellowship with Christ. You can get to know Him by reading, marking, and inwardly digesting His Word.... His Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

