Cats, Trees of Life, and Thousands of Feet of Hope?

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life. Proverbs 13:12

Main Entry: deferred
Part of Speech: adjective
Definition: put off till a later time
Synonyms: adjourned, assessed, charged, delayed, funded, held up, in waiting, indebted, negotiated, on hold, on the shelf, pigeonholed, postponed, prolonged, protracted, remanded, renegotiated,  scrubbed, stalled, staved off, temporized

My son returned from his Florida vacation last night.

*Deep fulfilled sigh under the shelter of a tree of life*

When he left (on a great big jet thousands of feet up in the sky held there by only 2 man-made engines and God’s will) while he was gone (thousands of miles from my protective arms) and while he was returning (on a great big jet thousands of feet up in the sky held there by only 2 man-made engines and God’s will)…

…I had all kinds of fiery darts horrible imaginations trying to intrude and steal my peace.  All week I hoped, prayed, and longed for his safe return.  I stayed very close to Jesus as He walked me by faith through this time apart from my son.  My hopes, my prayers, my longings, were fulfilled last night when he came down the escalator into my waiting arms and we shared our trademark Eskimo kiss!

The first thing he shared with me with delight in his eyes was that as he was leaving his Aunt and Uncles house to fly home from Florida, “God gave him a flock of at least 30 pelicans flying by as a send off.”

Ah, what sweet fulfilled peace under the shelter of a tree of life to have my baby home and to know that God was speaking to my son as well as to me.

At least in that area of my life.

Let me quickly switch gears (just like the way my son described the pilot’s handling of the plane in mid-air) to a secret part of my life where hope has been deferred.  The Lord brought it out into my awareness last week, even as I waited in hope for my son’s return.  There is a longing unfulfilled that He has opened my eyes to.

My days have passed, my plans are shattered, and so are the desires of my heart. Job 17:11

As a matter of fact the other night I was meditating on it before I went to bed.  I woke up two times in the middle of the night with that sick feeling in my heart gut.

Are you living with a hope deferred?  Is there some area of your life where you long for something, but have not yet received it?

Although it may not feel like it a longing unfulfilled is an opportunity for delight.

Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

There is a reason for a renewed hope that makes the heart soar a thousand feet into the air!

…but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; Isaiah 40:31

O Israel, put your hope in the LORD, for with the LORD is unfailing love and with him is full redemption. Psalm 130:7

You know, as I sit here and type this devotional blog my cat is laying stretched out, belly up, on the desk next to me.  As I look over at him he reaches out his paw to touch me and looks beseechingly up at me with hope infusing his entire little furry body…

hope that I will reach over and love on him and scratch his little chin. As I do, he exudes fulfillment.  I love cats… for just as dogs remind me of faithfulness…cats remind me of hope and a longing fulfilled.

Jesus, you are my hope, my only hope.  Amen.

Had it all one day
Threw it all away
Took my leave with no good-bye
Bought some company
Bragged that we were free
Laughed and looked death in the eye

Even far away
In a foreign place
Where the hungers gnawed my soul
Still my heart would long
For love's old sweet song
And a fire when the nights were cold

There's a road somewhere
There's an open door
There's a hill where the green grass grows
There's a family feast
Where there's joy and peace
Going back to a place called hope

Fickle friends are gone
Wasted years are long
And regret can bring you low
But there's a swift embrace
There's amazing grace
There's a place where lost sons go

There's a road somewhere
There's an open door
There's a hill where the green grass grows
There's a family feast
Where there's joy and peace
Going back to a place called hope

Going back to a place called hope

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SHARE THIS BLOG IF IT
HAS BEEN AN ENCOURAGEMENT TO YOU IN ANY WAY.
About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 14 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! I pray yours will be an eternal restored relationship. You can find out everything you need to know about Him by reading His autobiography filled with fulfilled prophecy, miracles, and the Truth- "The Holy Bible."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

