Prunes, gravity, and “the new 40″

Did you know that the Greek word for prunes also means cleans?  I just found that out while reading the Book of John, chapters 14 and 15.

I found that tidbit of information funny for some reason.

Did you know that gravity and wisdom are directly connected?  The lower my boobs get to the ground the wiser I become.

There’s something to be said for sag.

I’m not sure why I find that funny for some reason, too, but I do.

I’ve noticed that as I get older life gets funnier to me.

I’ve also noticed that as I get older its okay to laugh even when no one else gets it.

My 60 year old friend is always saying that 60 is the “new 40,” but recently, someone in my direct hearing, categorized 40 (40!) (40???) as “old age.” (He must have thought I was a mere 29 or he would have been polite enough to refrain from that comment in the presence of his elders.)

I didn’t find that too funny.

And one last tidbit of information…as I was looking for prune clip art I kept getting plums.  Do you think God sees us that way as we age?  We see prunes, He sees plums?

Proverbs 31: 25 & 26 says, “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.  She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.”

These verses kind of rhyme, and I find it ‘funny’ that laughter is sandwiched between dignity and wisdom.

Bike shorts with butt cushions? On me?  I’m not even going to go there!

BAHAHAHAHAHAH!

Father God, You gave us our sense of humor.  People have differing degrees.  Quiet humor, sarcastic wit, and everything in between.  Some people are walking smiles.  Some people can’t even crack a smile no matter what.  I’m thankful for all of them.  There’s hope for me yet.  I’ve always been of the more serious persuasion, but deep inside me there’s a desire to laugh waiting to burst forth.  I so appreciate humor, Lord.  Just think how dry this desert wandering would be without it.  Jesus, you are an amazing God to give us humor.  Thank you.  Amen.

About lifevine

Hi! My name is Amy. I am a former atheist and, for a season, practiced witchcraft. God drew me out of darkness 14 years ago and gave me the spiritual gifts of knowing and faith. He gives me daily encouragement and affirmation and I hope to share Him with you. If you have not yet met the one true God, His name is Jesus Christ, and may I be the first to introduce you to Him? He is the Restorative Savior God promised Adam and Eve 6,000 years ago (Genesis 3:15) after they had sinned in the garden, bringing separation from God because of disobedience. It is rightly reported that a little over 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem He was born of a virgin, lived a blameless perfect life in and around Jerusalem, died on a cross on Golgotha for the world's sin, and 3 days later rose again. YES! ROSE AGAIN! AMAZING! I pray yours will be an eternal restored relationship. You can find out everything you need to know about Him by reading His autobiography filled with fulfilled prophecy, miracles, and the Truth- "The Holy Bible."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

